After a 2 year hiatus we are pleased to announce that the Brantford Sports Council Awards & Recognition Program is a go for 2022 to recognize all those that contribute to youth sports in our community. The program will include a variety of virtual and live performances in a matinee venue to recognize all our youth sport groups and community partners.

The Brantford Sports Council is pleased to announce the FINALISTS in nine categories for the Awards that will be presented at the 16th annual Sports Awards and Recognition Celebration on Saturday March 12 at the Sanderson Centre for the Performing Arts from 10:00am to 1:00pm.

Admission is $30.00 per person and tickets must be purchased by March 8. Tickets can be purchased by E-transferring to or online from Eventbrite below.


Everyone who purchases tickets for the Awards presentation will be entered into our prize draw and receive a gift bag (while quantities last).

The awards being presented are as follows:

The Adrian Scherders Memorial Award – Sportsmanship and Dedication

Aidan Agnew – Brantford Galaxy Soccer
Maddie Campbell – Brantford Girls Hockey
Aidan Turcotte – Brantford Galaxy Soccer

The Phyllis Gretzky Memorial Award – Female Youth Leadership

Kara Hughes – Laurier Athletics Brantford
Jessica La Ronde – Brantford Minor Softball
Brianna Vamos – Brantford Track & Field

The Frank Bricker Memorial Award – Male Youth Leadership 

Aidan Agnew – Brantford Galaxy Soccer
Isaac Cherewka – North Park Football & Bisons Football
Josh Linington – Brantford Track & Field

Dave Levac Award – The Award of Excellence for Sports Officiating 

David Beech – Brantford Minor Hockey
Shannon Scheffel – Brantford Aquatic Club
Rob Welsh – Brantford Football Officials

The John Macklin Memorial Award – Coach of the Year

Cory Currie – Laurier Athletics Brantford
Dale Harrison – Brantford Minor Hockey
Alison Purkiss – Brant Skating Club

The George Churchill Memorial Award – Sports Volunteer of the Year 

Sandra Gagne – Brantford Community Hockey League
Randy Meggs – Brantford Minor Baseball
Jen Nagy – Brantford Girls CYO Basketball
Brandi Schott – Brant Skating Club

The Jack Calbeck Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Sponsorship 

Aucoin Investments Inc.
Brant Mutual Insurance Company
Strodes BBQ & Deli
The Sherwood Restaurant

The George Jones Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Volunteerism 

Janet Clarke – Brant Skating Club
Dennis Duce – Brantford Community Hockey League & Brantford Minor Hockey
Brent Hutchinson – Brantford Track & Field
Jason Nagy – Assumption College Football

The Jimmy Wilkes Memorial Award – Team of the Year  

BCI Senior Girls Basketball Team
Brantford Minor Hockey U10AAA Team
Laurier Women’s Cross Country Team
North Park Senior Football Team

The Frank Tomlin Memorial Award for Sportsperson of the Year will also be presented by Rick Mannen.

Come out and be part of the “VOICE FOR SPORTS” and celebrate the achievements of our athletes, teams, officials, volunteers and community partners that continue to make a difference in our community.


Wear your favourite sports attire and come out and join us for a fun filled day.

Flag raising at Harmony Square 8:15am
Sanderson Centre opens 9:00am 
Awards Program starts 10:00am

Everyone who pre-registers for the Awards  presentation will be entered into our prize draws. Admission is $30.00 per person and everyone must pre-register by March 8. 

For more information about the Sports Awards Celebration visit our website or email