The Brantford Sports Council has announced finalists in nine categories for the Sports Awards that will be presented at the 13th annual Sports Recognition Banquet on Wednesday February 7, 2018 at the Brantford Golf & Country Club, 60 Ava Rd.

The Adrian Scherders Memorial Award – Sportsmanship and Dedication
Jacob Alway (flag football), Meghan Josling (special olympics track & field), Bridget Kwasnik (multi sports)

The Phyllis Gretzky Memorial Award – Female Youth Leadership
Nicole Kelly (girls hockey), Emily Rickwood (girls hockey), Holly Taylor (multi sports), Alexa Windle (track & field)

The Frank Bricker Memorial Award – Male Youth Leadership
Cole Belkwell (track & field), Reece Doumani (baseball), Dylan Szczur (multi sports)

The John Macklin Memorial Award – Coach of the Year
Todd Andrew (multi sports), Sean Doucette (track & field), Leo Raposo (soccer)

The Jimmy Wilkes Memorial Award – Team of the Year
BCI Mustangs Senior Girls Basketball Team, Brantford Galaxy U15 Girls Soccer Team,
Brantford City U18 Girls Elite Soccer Team

The Dave Levac Award – The Award of Excellence for Sports Officiating
Neil Macdonald (lacrosse), Michael Roche (special olympics), George Wittingham (soccer)

The George Churchill Memorial Award – Sports Volunteer of the Year
Dave Fielding (hockey), Crosby Gibson (swimming), Connie Pomerleau (baseball), Michelle Smith (girls hockey)

The Jack Calbeck Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Sponsorship
Brant News, Levac’s, Millards Chartered Professional Accountants

The George Jones Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Volunteerism
Rob Coleman (soccer), Cathy Drinkwater (girls hockey), Frank Vieira (soccer)

Our keynote speaker is Peter Baxter, Director of Athletics and Recreation Wilfrid Laurier
University and President of the Ontario University Athletics.

Banquet tickets are $60.00 person $480.00 table of 8….limited seating so order your tickets today.

Doors Open 6:00pm, Dinner 7:00pm.


For more information and to order tickets visit or email