Nominations are now being accepted to recognize the outstanding achievements of local athletes, coaches, volunteers, teams, officials and sponsors who are actively involved in and support minor sports in our community.

The 13th annual Brantford Sports Council Youth Sports Recognition Banquet will take place on
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 at the Brantford Golf and Country Club, 60 Ava Rd.

Our keynote speaker is Peter Baxter, Director of Athletics and Recreation Wilfrid Laurier
University and President of the Ontario University Athletics.

Nomination submissions covers any sport whose season concludes in 2017. The deadline for nominations is Saturday January 20, 2018.

Details of the criteria for each of the awards is on the Sports councils website at

NOW is the time to submit a nomination for these awards. DON’T WAIT – NOMINATE!!
The Phyllis Gretzky Memorial Award – Female Youth Leadership
The Frank Bricker Memorial Award – Male Youth Leadership
The Jimmy Wilkes Memorial Award – Team of the Year
The John Macklin Memorial Award – Coach of the Year
The Adrian Scherders Memorial Award – Sportsmanship and Dedication
The George Churchill Memorial Award – Sports Volunteer of the Year
The George Jones Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Volunteerism
The Jack Calbeck Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Sponsorship
Dave Levac Award – The Award of Excellence for Sports Officiating
The Frank Tomlin Memorial Award – Sportsperson of the Year

Nomination forms are available on the Brantford Sports Council website and nominators are encouraged to nominate ONLINE.

Completed forms can also be dropped off at Parks and Recreation at 1 Sherwood Drive.

For any additional information regarding the Banquet or Awards please contact Bill Harding at or 519-861-1935.

Let’s all work together to recognize sport excellence and volunteers in our community!

Bill Harding, Chair BSC Awards Banquet