The Brantford Sports Council is pleased to announce the WINNERS of the Awards presented at the 17th annual Sports Awards and Recognition Celebration held on Saturday, March 11.

Sportsperson of the Year
Garrett Riley, Paralympics

Community Ambassador Award
Ron Birkett

Kevin Finney Memorial Award – Sportsmanship and Dedication
Hunter Payne, Swimming

All Sports Awards Winners holding their trophies side by side.

Phyllis Gretzky Memorial Award – Female Youth Leadership
Cassidy Chapin, Multi-Sports
Marissa Wheeler, Artistic Swimming

Frank Bricker Memorial Award – Male Youth Leadership
Hunter Ballantyne, Baseball

Dave Levac Award – The Award of Excellence for Sports Officiating
DJ McQueen, Hockey
Jim Chmiel, Basketball
Shannon Scheffel, Aquatics
Sue Grinton, Hockey

John Macklin Memorial Award – Coach of the Year
Steve Petrella, Basketball

George Churchill Memorial Award – Sports Volunteer of the Year
Connie Martin, Artistic swimming
Sandra Gagne, Community Hockey, AASF

Jack Calbeck Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Sponsorship
Cowan Insurance Group
Giant Tiger
Renway Energy

George Jones Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Volunteerism
Rick & Sandy Beedham, Volleyball
Suzanne Paulins, Aquatics
Thom Foster, Hockey

Jimmy Wilkes Memorial Award – Team of the Year
BCI Junior Boys Rugby Team

CONGRATULATIONS to all the Finalists who were part of the 2022 Sports Awards.

The Frank Tomlin Memorial Award for Sportsperson of the Year was presented to Garret Riley.

Be part of the “VOICE FOR SPORTS” and celebrate the achievements of our athletes, teams, officials, volunteers and community partners who continue to make a difference in our community.

Garrett Riley